How start-ups use digital solutions to build bridges between the energy and housing industries.

40 percent of our total energy consumption is accounted for by residential and commercial buildings. But the new EU directive on the energy efficiency of buildings must be implemented by 2050. By then, all buildings in Europe will be low-energy buildings. There is still a lot to be done by then. Because to achieve this, not only insulation and more energy efficiency in buildings are needed. It also requires the use of renewable energy for energy supply, the installation of charging points for electric cars and the use of digital building and energy management solutions for combined use.

All this can be combined in one "Smart Building". However, smart building solutions are also bringing the energy and housing industries closer together. In networked buildings, for example, data can be generated, analyzed and evaluated using built-in sensors. The data allows information to be obtained and processed more quickly. They map energy consumption, occupant behaviour and the operating status of technical equipment and systems in buildings. With the integration of additional data, analyses and forecasts are possible that help to maintain buildings. In addition to energy services, this results in new business and service options for the real estate and housing industry.

8 smart solutions for Smart Buildings

Smart networked solutions for smart buildings address both the energy and housing industries. They are the starting point for new digitalized business models. Startups are dealing with such innovative energy, data and building management solutions. They develop the infrastructure for smart buildings on the basis of big data, artificial intelligence (AI), Internet of Things (IoT), digital twins and other technical solutions. The following eight selected case studies show you which solutions Startups use to build hinges for the energy and housing industries.

KUGU Home GmbH - Business opener for new business fields in the housing industry

The Berlin-based start-up KUGU is developing a digital toolbox for real estate. With their solutions, building technology and services can be digitized. For the housing industry, KUGU opens up new business fields and gives the opportunity to offer independent services such as heating and water cost accounting. On the way, residents gain transparent insights into their energy consumption and are encouraged to save energy.

Lemonbeat GmbH - Platform generalist for IoT applications

The Dortmund-based start-up Lemonbeat is creating a communications infrastructure for IoT applications that can be used both for industry and for the energy and real estate sectors. Your IoT Communication Backbone is the backbone for various IoT communication solutions. With the IoT operating system Lemonbeat OS™, Lemonbeat provides all software modules (services) required for the desired application. Thus Lemonbeat enables lean building automation in the area of Smart Building, as well as energy efficiency, security and comfort, which is also worthwhile for use in existing properties. As technology providers, they are anxious to reduce system development costs through standardization.

Rockethome GmbH - Provider of a digital service platform for networked living

"Everything from one source and on one service platform" is the promise of the Cologne-based start-up Rockethome. With their IoT platform, they create use cases in a wide variety of areas. Rockethome specializes in integrated IoT solutions for device control and automation, but also for monitoring and optimizing energy flows in buildings through decentralized energy management, real-time monitoring for security systems, tenant portals, tenant flows or intelligent charging management for electric vehicles.

Rysta GmbH - Protects building fabric and creates a good indoor climate

Sensor technology combined with intelligent algorithms involving users, with this hardware and software solution, the Berlin start-up Rysta supports the housing industry. With the Rysta Schimmel Guard solution, Rysta has developed a tool that analyzes indoor air, prepares data and makes it available via a portal. This helps to improve the indoor climate and to avoid mould growth in both new and existing buildings. Thus they protect the health of the inhabitants just like the building fabric of buildings.

ESENTA GmbH - Digitalized key for building access

Esenta, a start-up company based in Kappelrodeck in Baden-Württemberg, Germany, uses its digital solution to give visitors access to buildings via smartphone. Visitors can use an authentication procedure to enter a building for a certain period of time. Control is possible from a distance. Esentas access and communication solution is a smart home application that can be used for various applications.

METR GmbH - IoT infrastructure for the management of residential real estate

With its multifunctional gateway, the Berlin-based start-up METR provides the basis for a manufacturer-independent, secure and universally applicable IoT infrastructure in networked buildings. METR focuses on the housing industry and prepares applications for housing associations and administrators based on digital solutions. These include, for example, networked smoke detectors, submetering, intelligent heating control and other services. With its hardware platform, METR creates the prerequisites for interconnectivity and the bundling of the various digital products and services.

vilisto - Self-learning radiator thermostats for smart non-residential buildings

The KI-based, self-learning and fully automatic radiator thermostat of the Hamburg start-up vilisto ensures a demand-oriented and efficient heat supply in office and commercial buildings. It uses room and presence sensors, integrates weather data and decodes the usage behaviour as well as various building parameters individually for each room. This has been proven to achieve energy savings of up to 32 percent. Vilisto's self-learning system consists of the radiator thermostat ovis and an intelligent gateway shepherd.

Solarimo GmbH - Tenant flow from solar systems for rental properties

As a full-service provider, the Berlin start-up Solarimo plans and implements tenant power projects on the roofs of rental properties. But the start-up is not only active as a planner and project planner of PV systems. In fact, Solarimo takes care of all aspects of operation, maintenance and service. They sell the generated electricity to the tenants of residential buildings who draw their electricity directly from the roof of the residential building. Investors and property owners also benefit from the increased attractiveness of the buildings and from participation options. Solarimo is thus bringing about the energy revolution in cities by exploiting the potential of roof areas for solar power generation.

Wie Startups digitale Lösungen nutzen, um Brücken zwischen der Energie- und Wohnungswirtschaft zu bauen.

40 Prozent unseres Gesamtenergieverbrauchs veranschlagen Wohn- und Gewerbegebäude. Doch bis zum Jahr 2050 gilt es die neue EU-Richtlinie zur Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden umzusetzen. Dann sollen alle Gebäude europaweit Niedrigstenergiehäuser sein. Bis dahin ist noch einiges zu leisten. Denn um das zu erreichen, braucht es nicht nur Dämmung und mehr Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden. Benötigt wird ebenso der Einsatz von erneuerbarer Energie zur Energieversorgung, die Einrichtung von Ladepunkten für Elektroautos sowie die Nutzung von digitalen Gebäude- und Energiemanagementlösungen für den kombinierten Einsatz.

All das kann in sich vereint ein „Smart Building“ bieten. Durch smarte Gebäudelösungen wachsen jedoch auch die Energiewirtschaft und Wohnungswirtschaft immer weiter zusammen. So können in vernetzten Gebäuden mithilfe verbauter Sensorik Daten generiert, analysiert und ausgewertet werden. Durch die Daten lassen sich Informationen schneller gewinnen und verarbeiten. Sie bilden Energieverbräuche, Nutzungsverhalten von Bewohnern und Betriebszustände von technischen Geräten und Anlagen in Gebäuden ab. Unter Einbindung zusätzlicher Daten sind Analysen und Prognosen möglich, die helfen Gebäude instand zu halten. Daraus ergeben sich neben Energieservices, ebenso neue Geschäfts- und Serviceoptionen für die Immobilien- und Wohnungswirtschaft.

8 smarte Lösungen für Smart Buildings aus dem LOFT-Ecosystem

Smarte vernetzte Lösungen für Smart Buildings adressieren gleichermaßen Energie- und Wohnungswirtschaft. Sie bilden den Ausgangspunkt für neue digitalisierte Geschäftsmodelle. Mit solchen innovativen Energie-, Daten- und Gebäudemanagement-Lösungen beschäftigen sich Startups. Sie entwickeln auf Grundlage von Big Data, Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI), Internet of Things (IoT), Digitalen Zwillingen und anderen technischen Lösungen die Infrastruktur für smarte Gebäude. Mit welchen Lösungen Startups Scharniere für die Energie- und Wohnungswirtschaft bauen, zeigen Euch die nachfolgenden acht ausgewählten Fallbeispiele.

KUGU Home GmbH – Business-Opener für neue Geschäftsfelder in der Wohnungswirtschaft

Das Berliner Startup KUGU entwickelt einen digitalen Werkzeugkasten für Immobilien. Mit ihren Lösungen lassen sich Gebäudetechnik und Services digitalisieren. Für die Wohnungswirtschaft eröffnet KUGU damit neue Geschäftsfelder und gibt die Möglichkeit an die Hand, eigenständige Services, wie beispielsweise Heiz- und Wasserkostenabrechnungen, anzubieten. Bewohner erhalten auf dem Weg transparente Einblicke in ihre Energieverbräuche und werden zum Energiesparen angehalten.

Lemonbeat GmbH – Plattform-Generalist für IoT-Anwendungen

Das Dortmunder Startup Lemonbeat schafft eine Kommunikationsinfrastruktur für IoT-Anwendungen, die sich sowohl für Industrie als auch für die Energie- und Immobilienwirtschaft nutzen lässt. Ihr IoT Communication Backbone ist das Rückgrat für verschiedene IoT-Kommunikationslösungen. Lemonbeat stellt mit dem IoT-Betriebssystem Lemonbeat OS™ alle Softwarebausteine (Services) zur Verfügung, die für den gewünschten Anwendungsfall benötigt werden. Dadurch ermöglicht Lemonbeat eine schlanke Gebäudeautomation im Bereich Smart Building, ebenso wie Energieeffizienz, Sicherheit und Komfort, die sich auch für den Einsatz in Bestandsimmobilien lohnt. Als Technologieanbieter sind sie darauf bedacht, Entwicklungskosten von Systemen durch Standardisierung zu reduzieren.

Rockethome GmbH – Anbieter einer digitalen Service Plattform für vernetztes Wohnen

„Alles aus einer Hand und auf einer Service-Plattform!“ ist das Versprechen des Kölner Startups Rockethome. Mit ihrer IoT-Plattform schaffen sie Anwendungsfälle in den verschiedensten Bereichen. Rockethome spezialisiert sich auf ganzheitliche IoT-Lösungen für Gerätesteuerung und -automation, aber auch für Monitoring und Optimierung von Energieflüssen in Gebäuden durch dezentrales Energiemanagement, Echtzeit-Monitoring für Sicherheitssysteme, Mieterportale, Mieterstrom oder intelligentes Lademanagement für E-Fahrzeuge.

Rysta GmbH – Schützt Bausubstanz und schafft gutes Wohnklima

Sensorik kombiniert mit intelligenten Algorithmen unter Einbindung von Nutzern, mit dieser Hard-und Softwarelösung unterstützt das Berliner Startup Rysta die Wohnungswirtschaft. Mit der Rysta Schimmel Guard Lösung hat Rysta ein Tool entwickelt, welches Raumluft analysiert, Daten aufbereitet und über ein Portal zur Verfügung stellt. Dieses gibt Hilfestellung, um Wohnklima zu verbessern sowie Schimmelbildung sowohl in Neubauten als auch in Bestandsimmobilien zu vermeiden. Damit schützen sie die Gesundheit der Bewohner ebenso wie die Bausubstanz von Gebäuden.

ESENTA GmbH – Digitalisierter Schlüssel für Gebäudezugänge

Das aus dem Baden-Württembergischen Kappelrodeck stammende Startup Esenta verschafft Besuchern über ihre digitale Lösung Zutritt zu Gebäuden per Smartphone. So können über ein Authentifizierungsverfahren Besucher ein Gebäude für einen bestimmten Zeitraum betreten. Die Kontrolle ist über die Ferne möglich. Esentas Zutritts- und Kommunikationslösung ist eine Smart-Home Anwendung, die sich für verschiedene Anwendungsfälle nutzen lässt.

METR GmbH – IoT Infrastruktur zur Bewirtschaftung von Wohnimmobilien

Mit seinem multifunktionalen Gateway stellt das Berliner Startup METR die Basis für eine herstellerübergreifende, sichere und universell einsetzbare IoT-Infrastruktur in vernetzten Gebäuden bereit. Dabei fokussiert sich METR auf die Wohnungswirtschaft und bereitet Anwendungen für Wohnungsgesellschaften und Verwalter basierend auf digitalen Lösungen vor. Zu diesen zählen beispielsweise vernetzte Rauchmelder, Submetering, intelligente Heizungssteuerung und andere Services. Mit ihrer Hardware-Plattform schafft METR die Voraussetzung für Interkonnektivität und die Bündelung der unterschiedlichen digitalen Produkte und Services.

vilisto – Selbstlernede Heizkörperthermostate für smarte Nicht-Wohngebäude

Für eine bedarfsgerechte und effiziente Wärmeversorgung in Büro- und Gewerbegebäuden sorgt das auf KI-basierende, selbstlernende und vollautomatische Heizkörperthermostat des Hamburger Startups vilisto. Es nutzt Raum- und Präsenzsensorik, bindet Wetterdaten ein und entschlüsselt das Nutzungsverhalten sowie verschiedene Gebäudeparameter raumindividuell. Dadurch lässt sich nachweislich bis zu 32 Prozent Energieeinsparung erzielen. Vilistos selbstlernendes System besteht aus dem Heizkörperthermostaten ovis und einem intelligenten Gateway shepherd.

Solarimo GmbH – Mieterstrom aus Solaranlagen für Mietimmobilien

Als Full-Service-Anbieter plant und realisiert das Berliner Startup Solarimo Mieterstromprojekte auf Dächern von Mietimmobilien. Doch das Startup betätigt sich nicht nur als Planer und Projektierer der PV-Anlagen. Vielmehr kümmert sich Solarimo ganzheitlich um Betrieb, Wartung und Service. Den generierten Strom verkaufen sie an die Mieter von Wohngebäuden, die ihren Strom direkt vom Dach des Wohnhauses beziehen. Investoren und Immobilienbesitzer profitieren ebenfalls durch gesteigerte Attraktivität der Gebäude sowie Beteiligungsoptionen. Damit bringt Solarimo die Energiewende in Städte, indem sie das Potenzial von Dachflächen für die solare Stromerzeugung nutzen.